Project and Portfolio Management
Version 27 Version 26 39.5.25 39.5.23 39.5.22 39.5.21 39.5.20 39.5.19 39.5.18 39.5.17 German English
Version 27 Version 26 39.5.25 39.5.23 39.5.22 39.5.21 39.5.20 39.5.19 39.5.18 39.5.17 German English

Replanning MOD009E4Z

Introduction

  • Planning → Projects panel → Replanning

Information

  • In this module you can carry out a complete scheduling of all active planning objects and reorganize the capacity loading of the resources at period level.

    • This ensures that reliable data on resource utilization is available across all projects, since priorities among projects are only taken into account when calculating the workload for all projects, i.e. among projects that share the same resources, those with higher priority are scheduled first, and those with lower priority are then allocated the remaining capacity of the relevant resources.

  • Replanning must also be carried out after changes have been made to company, project, and resource calendars or model parameters.

Details

  • The module filters by all active planning objects (status = 1) and, for projects, specifically by projects with level = 0, meaning, simple projects and, in the case of structured projects, main projects.

  • The planning objects displayed in this module are calculated in the following sequence:

      The subprojects are calculated in the same order as part of the main project.

    • During replanning, both the functional ID and the technical ID of the project which is being calculated are displayed in the status line. Once replanning is completed, the status line reads Replanning completed.

    Procedure

    • After clicking on the Replanning button, replanning will be carried out in the following steps:

      • All loaded planning objects are unloaded, i.e. the planned loads of the planned resources are deleted and all dates of the planning objects are set to empty.

      • The dates and capacities of all projects, proposals, ideas, and programs are recalculated.

      • The budget and costs of all projects, proposals, ideas and programs are calculated.

    • When clicking on the Replanning (incl. portfolios) button in the action bar, the same steps as described above are carried out and finally the following step is carried out in addition:

      • Annual budget and costs of all portfolios are calculated.

    Notes

    • Since these calculations make use of extensive algorithms, replanning should not be carried out at times in which the server computer system is heavily loaded. The existence of a great number of projects with huge amounts of data also has an impact on the replanning runtime. We recommend that you run the replanning automatically over night. There are several ways to set this up. If you have further questions, please contact your PLANTA consultant.

    • The replanning is only carried out for the planning objects that are displayed in this module. This means that if, e.g., a new planning object was created after the Replanning module had already been opened, and the replanning was initiated without prior module update, the newly created planning object will not be considered in the replanning.

    • If a planning object was deleted in one session while the Replanning module was already open in another session, and the replanning was initiated after the planning object was deleted, the deleted planning object will still appear in the list of planning objects but will not be included in the calculation because it no longer exists.

    • If one session is carrying out a replanning, it is not possible to delete one of the planning objects in another session. Upon attempt, the following message is output: Function is locked. Replanning active!

    • If replanning is running in a session, you cannot start single project calculation, unloading, or replanning in another session. This is indicated by a message.

    • If a network cycle is found in one of the planning objects included in the calculation, scheduling will be canceled here and a message will be displayed. After you have confirmed the message, scheduling is continued for the remaining planning objects, however, the planning object with network cycle is not calculated. The network cycle must be fixed in this planning object before it can be scheduled anew. For further information, please refer to Cycle Search.

    For detailed information on the calculation of projects as well as on different factors which are to be considered and their impact, refer to the Scheduling (Calculation of the Projects) topic.